Plenary Speakers

Kira Barton | University of Michigan

Kira Barton is an Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and a Core Faculty member of the Robotics Institute at the University of Michigan. She received her B.Sc. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Colorado at Boulder in 2001. She continued her education in mechanical engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and completed her M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in 2006 and 2010, respectively. She held a postdoctoral research position at the University of Illinois from Fall 2010 until Fall 2011, at which point she joined the Mechanical Engineering Department at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor. Kira conducts research in modeling, sensing, and control for applications in advanced manufacturing and robotics, with a specialization in Iterative Learning Control and multi-agent systems. Kira is the recipient of an NSF CAREER Award in 2014, 2015 SME Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award, the 2015 University of Illinois, Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering Outstanding Young Alumni Award, the 2016 University of Michigan, Department of Mechanical Engineering Department Achievement Award, and the 2017 ASME Dynamic Systems and Control Young Investigator Award.

Francesco Bullo | UC Santa Barbara

Francesco Bullo is a Professor with the Mechanical Engineering Department and the Center for Control, Dynamical Systems and Computation at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He was previously associated with the University of Padova (Laurea degree in Electrical Engineering, 1994), the California Institute of Technology (Ph.D. degree in Control and Dynamical Systems, 1999), and the University of Illinois. He served on the editorial boards of IEEE, SIAM, and ESAIM journals, as IEEE CSS President and as SIAG CST Chair. His research interests focus on contraction theory, network systems and distributed control with application to robotic coordination, power grids and social networks. He is the coauthor of “Geometric Control of Mechanical Systems” (Springer, 2004), “Distributed Control of Robotic Networks” (Princeton, 2009), and “Lectures on Network Systems” (Kindle Direct Publishing, 2022, v1.6). He received best paper awards for his work in IEEE Control Systems, Automatica, SIAM Journal on Control and Optimization, IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems, and IEEE Transactions on Control of Network Systems. He is a Fellow of IEEE, IFAC, and SIAM.

Daniel Liberzon | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Daniel Liberzon was born in the former Soviet Union in 1973. He did his undergraduate studies in the Department of Mechanics and Mathematics at Moscow State University from 1989 to 1993.
In 1993 he moved to the United States to pursue graduate studies in mathematics at Brandeis University, where he received the Ph.D. degree in 1998 (supervised by Prof. Roger W. Brockett of Harvard University). Following a postdoctoral position in the Department of Electrical Engineering at Yale University from 1998 to 2000 (with Prof. A. Stephen Morse), he joined the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where he is now a Richard T. Cheng Professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department and a professor in the Coordinated Science Laboratory. His research interests include nonlinear control theory, switched and hybrid dynamical systems, control with limited information, and uncertain and stochastic systems. He is the author of the books “Switching in Systems and Control” (Birkhauser, 2003) and “Calculus of Variations and Optimal Control Theory: A Concise Introduction” (Princeton Univ. Press, 2012). His work has received several recognitions, including the 2002 IFAC Young Author Prize and the 2007 Donald P. Eckman Award. He delivered a plenary lecture at the 2008 American Control Conference. He is a fellow of IEEE and IFAC, and an Editor for Automatica (Nonlinear Systems and Control area).

David J Hill, Bode Lecturer | The University of NSW, Sydney

David J. Hill (S’72-M’76-SM’91-F’93-LF’14) is Professor of Energy Systems in the School of Electrical Engineering and Telecommunications, The University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia. During 2013-2020, he held the positions of Chair of Electrical Engineering and Director of the Centre for Electrical Energy Systems at the University of Hong Kong. He previously held positions at the University of Sydney including the Chair of Electrical Engineering during 1994-2002 and again in 2010-2013 along with an Australian Research Council Professorial Fellowship. He was Foundation Director of the Centre for Future Energy Networks during 2010-2018. He is Professor Emeritus at The University of Sydney and The University of Hong Kong. His research activities have been in energy systems, control systems, complex networks, learning systems and stability analysis. His work is now mainly focussed on issues for future energy and power networks. He is a Fellow of SIAM, IFAC, the Australian Academy of Science, the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and the Hong Kong Academy of Engineering Sciences. He is also a Foreign Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences. He received the 2021 IEEE Power and Energy Society Prabha S. Kundur Power System Dynamics and Control Award.